My rating: pink3

(2.5 stars)

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello, everybody! Another day, another review, and this time, it’s on My Unscripted Life by Lauren Morrill. Now, to be fair and honest, I should have not expected so much from this book, since I didn’t like the author’s last one. But the blurb just seemed so interesting. My Unscripted Life is about a girl named Dee who becomes a summer intern on a movie set once she is rejected from a summer Art program. I LOVE books that have to do with the entertainment sphere, whether it’s about movies, tv shows, or music. So I decided to request it on NetGalley, and now I’ve come to regret it.

First off, the book just had too many colloquialisms in it. Now, I might be a fan of the occasional funny phrase or appropriate metaphor. However, this book had so much of that, it was distracting for me to read. Instead of being appropriately placed, the metaphors and sayings were everywhere and didn’t make sense at all. Or they would be ones that wouldn’t sit well with me, like using the phrase “like a drunk toddler” to describe someone’s coordination. I was pissed off for a few minutes after reading that, just arguing with the book (yes, I was arguing with the book… 😉 )  on why that should never be a possibility. But that was probably just my own bias…

Then, there were the characters. I didn’t really like Dee, our main character. She just didn’t seem strong or real enough to me. There were moments where I could relate and empathize with her, but other than that , I thought that her reasoning was all over the place. I didn’t really understand her rationale and I guess that distanced me from her. I also thought that she got way too attached to her love interest to be realistic. And to be honest, I thought that the novel as a whole wasn’t that realistic. I feel as if the author could have done more with the novel, like continue some trains of thought that the characters were having, or using a few secondary characters to their maximum potential. Some characters that seemed to possess significant roles early on in the novel, but were later belittled to limited roles. Based on their roles in the end, it didn’t make sense to have them in the novel at all, so why were they there in the first place? It was just one of the things that bugged me.

Although I didn’t like reading My Unscripted Life that much, there were a few moments where I could enjoy it, like when Dee went all artistic on us, or when the novel would include aspects of a screenplay. It was just so much fun to read during those points. But they were so little and few that it didn’t really matter as much…

Overall, I wouldn’t recommend My Unscripted Life to anyone. It might be just my bias and you could possibly like it. Let’s just say that you liked The Trouble with Destiny by the same author, you’d probably like this book, too. That’s all I have to say about this book. If you have any questions or comments, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day, everyone!

–  Sumaya

