My rating: green4

(3.75 stars)

Hey, everyone! I’m back with another review and this time it’s on Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. This was actually supposed to be posted a while ago, but since I was reading this book with a buddy, I chose to hold onto this review for a little bit longer. Since You’ve Been Gone is about a girl named Emily and what happens to her when she’s left behind by her best friend, Sloane, without anything to go on but a list. This list has things she needs to do, like kiss a stranger, ask for Mona, ride horses and other things. Emily immediately thinks that this will lead her to Sloane, so she sets out on completing the list.

This book was on my TBR pile for a long time and I probably wouldn’t have gotten to it so soon, if it wasn’t a buddy read. It seemed interesting enough, so I was excited to start it. I didn’t realize that I wouldn’t like it so much, though. I just thought that it would be interesting, but I hated the characters at first. I thought that Sloane was being rude and inconsiderate by not telling Emily she was leaving. And Emily seemed afraid of everything… But once I got into it, somewhere on the fifth chapter, I was actually excited to see what Emily would do and how she would accomplish her tasks…. 😉 As for Frank Porter, I thought he was okay, but my real interest was in Emily’s development as well as the flashbacks with Sloane, explaining some of the issues they face in the present.

The story went on and while I was invested for a good amount, near the end, I lost interest in it. I just was waiting for things to come full circle. By the time it was over, I was ready to go onto another book… Don’t get me wrong; some parts of the ending were great, but I noticed myself starting to skim, especially when it came to Emily and Frank. I felt as if there was so much misunderstanding between them that it was just ridiculous!

Well, that’s all I have to say about Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. It was nice to read, but it wasn’t my favourite contemporary novel… Have you  read it? What did you think about it? I’d love to hear your thoughts, as well as any questions, in the Comments Section below! Thanks for reading!

–  Sumaya

