My rating: purple4

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hey, lovely readers! It’s been a while, but I’ve got another review for you! This time, it’s on  The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. It’s about a princess named Maya whose cursed with a horoscope that pairs her with death and destruction, so naturally, her kingdom fears her. After a political arrangement gone wrong, Maya ends up married to a stranger named Amar, who is king to this magical, in-between  place called Akaran. Once there, Maya discovers secrets, new and old, and must unravel the truth about herself before it’s too late.  I’ve been meaning to read this book for a long time, so it’s nice to finally get to it. Especially when all these books on my TBR are competing for my attention, saying “Read me! Read me!” 😉 While there were moments where I lost interest, overall, this book was a great read!

Even though this book was enjoyable-to the point where I stayed up till 1 a.m. to finish it-I can’t discard the fact that the story didn’t interest me right away. There were times where I would skim the pages and had to go back again in order to understand what just happened. Maybe because I felt as though nothing really happened in the beginning, but once Amar pops onto the scene, things start to get really interesting. Like right before part two of the book, there was  a really tense scene that basically played with my heartstrings and becoming really riled up after that scene! Afterwards, I saw more urgency within the book, which was really nice.

The characters themselves were interesting to behold. I kind of wish we had more of a chance to see some of them fleshed out, but at least A Crown of Wishes is coming out next year, which is about the protagonist’s sister (who is really fascinating, btw 😉). But the main characters-Maya, Amar, and Nritti- are really great to read about, even though it’s all in Maya’s POV. The complexity of these characters has you rooting for them, while at the same time acknowledging that they have flaws, too. For example, while I like Maya for being smart and resourceful, at times, she could be quite annoying. It’s just that she doubts herself way too much. I guess what I’m trying to say is that it was nice seeing every character at fault, and that it was too complex to just put blame on a certain person. By the end of it all, you have empathy for a lot of people within The Star-Touched Queen.

Overall, I liked reading this book and encourage anyone who has this on their TBR pile to read it as well. It may be a little tedious in the beginning, but the ending is where it’s at! That’s all I have to say about The Star-Touched Queen; thanks for reading! If you have any questions and thoughts, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day!

– Sumaya

