My rating: blue4 copy

(3.75 stars)

Hello, everyone! Another day, another review; this time it’s on Gena/Finn by Hannah Moskowitz and Kat Helgeson. It’s a book about two people finding a connection through fandom and how they become friends because of it. Now, for those of you who don’t know, I love books about fandoms! But this book was different from all the others I’ve read; not in a bad way, at least where the fandom is concerned.

First of all, this book felt like two books instead of one. It goes from upbeat and lightish, to really dark and suspenseful. It’s not as if the subject matter of the book couldn’t be dark and suspenseful; it just came out of nowhere. And once it went down that path, I knew the lightness of the book’s beginning wouldn’t truly come back. Not with so little pages left in the story (the whole book was 287 pages). But it would have been nice to have so many questions answered, because I know this book will probably not garner a sequel (contemporaries almost never do, and even then it could be in another person’s POV). I guess it affected me that way because I loved how it started out in the beginning, with Gena and Finn becoming friends and how they were really sweet together! And then when they finally meet, that was something special! But somewhere along the way, the book decides to stop being the happy read that it was and starts being of a sadder tone. And while I’m not out to say that sad books are horrible, I’m just saying that it would have been nice to have a heads up because it kind of blindsided me…

As for the characters, I really loved them! There was Gena with her fics and poems, her brilliant imagination, her strength and vulnerability. Finn with her understanding, beautiful drawings, and friendship. And Charlie with his love and support. Reading the dynamic between characters was amazing as well as hearing their inner thoughts. I just wish (again) that the book didn’t take the turn that it did….

That’s all I have to say about Gena/Finn for now! Have you read this story? And did you like it or not? By the way, any comments or questions are welcome in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day!

–  Sumaya

