My rating: red5

(4.5 stars)

Hello fellow bloggers and wonderful readers! Today, I’ll be reviewing The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid. I’d like to start out this review by stating that I do not like Sci-Fi, generally, but I loved reading this book from start to finish! There was just so many things going on that I couldn’t help but enjoy it, while also updating every second on Goodreads… 😀 The story is told through Nemesis, a Diabolic genetically engineered to protect one person, Sidonia Impyrean. When Sidonia’s life is in danger, Nemesis sets out to impersonate her and become a hostage in order to protect her.

What intrigued me about this book so much was its execution. If it was done in another way, it could have been exactly like other books, like Aimee Carter’s Pawn, Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen and even Erin Bow’s The Scorpion Rules. But it was the motivations behind the characters that brought out events that were interesting to read about. While there were moments where I had an idea of what’s to come, instead of it being off-putting (which it usually is for me), it kind of made me want to read more to see if I was right. Then there were those moments where I didn’t see coming, and that was its own type of fun! The story itself was sprinkled with such good descriptions and side stories that I couldn’t help but fall in love with it and the characters.

The Diabolic also reminded me a bit of Frankenstein, with a focus on addressing  Nemesis’ humanity, especially since she  was created in an artificial manner. I loved her “newness” and discoveries along the way, especially feelings-wise; she seemed like a parallel to Frankenstein’s creature in the books. I really liked seeing her  relationship with Sidonia, even though at times it seemed more unhealthy than not. While Nemesis might seem like a boring character to some, especially at the beginning, I thought that she was someone who was acclimated to a certain role and it made her hollow to anything else. All I can say is that she really starts to develop as the novel progresses and I hope that there is a sequel, so that I can see more of that!

To be honest, the only problem I found with the book was that the dialogue didn’t feel realistic at times, but given that it’s consistent and used in formal settings, I think that the dialogue is suited to the content. It was just a bit jarring for me because people don’t usually talk like that.

Overall, The Diabolic was a treat to read and I recommend it to anyone who likes Science Fiction, because (as someone who doesn’t like Sci-Fi) if I liked it, then it’s a probably a good sign that it was spectacular! 😉  The Diabolic comes out on November 1st, 2016 for anyone whose interested! That’s all I have to say about this book! If you have any questions or thoughts, please leave them in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading! 😉

-Sumaya

