Rating: purple3

Hello, everyone! Another day, another review, and this time, it’s Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. It’s a book about how two teenagers, Kady and Ezra, who are exes and how they’re forced to work together after their planet has been attacked by a corporate spaceship. I think I’ve stayed away from this book for so long because of its genre (Sci-Fi), but when I saw others rave about it, as well as the fact that it was available in my library, that made me want to see what all the fuss was about. And after reading the book, I thought that it wasn’t really worth the fuss. It just didn’t interest me as much as it should have. There were some parts where I couldn’t put down the book, eager to see what happens next, but for the most part, I was kind of bored with the book and where the story went.

Some of the things I liked about this book was its unique writing style. Instead of Illuminae being written in the fashion of most books, a mix of dialogue and description, the book was comprised of a number of files (written, audial and visual) from the past year. They recorded the account of what happened in Kerenza and its people after it had been attacked by BeiTech, a corporate company. It was really fun to read and see how creative the authors were being with form and content. I also really loved the dialogue (via DM and correspondence) between the characters and how it brought them to life. It might sound like a small thing, with dialogue being an assumed given, but trust me, it can make all the difference between a believable and likeable character to an archetype or someone who doesn’t sound true to their character.

What I didn’t like about Illuminae was its repetitive storyline. I felt as if I were reading the same story twice within the book, with plot points being repeated and problems revisited in the same manner. Some of it did have merit, because it affects other parts of the story. I just think that could have been way shorter, especially when the book wasn’t lacking in pages. And then there was the ending, which started out okay, but then ended unresolved and without a point. I don’t know what Kady was trying to achieve in that last segment and I think that it could have been handled in a different way. At first, her stance started out as really strong, but then ended up as weak because it just didn’t make sense. Overall, I’d give this book a 3 star rating.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Illuminae for now. Have you read Illuminae? Did you like it? If you have any comments or questions, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Have a nice day!

-Sumaya

