Rating: pink5

(4.5 stars)

Hello, fellow bloggers! I’m back with another review and this time it’s on All the Feels by Danika Stone. Now, this is the first book I’m reviewing that I’ve actually reread for fun! It’s kind of shocking, seeing as I don’t really have time to reread a book when there are so many other novels out there. But trust me, this book is worth the reread! 😉 For those of you who don’t know, All the Feels is about a fangirl named Liv, whose obsessed with the movie franchise, Starveil, and its protagonist, Matt Spartan. When Matt Spartan is killed off and the movies end, Liv starts an online revolution to bring them both back! Really cool concept for a novel and I loved see the grassroots movement! 😀

When  I first read this book, it was offered for a limited time only on Swoon Reads. While most of the revised novel had the same content, there were a few key differences. Some of those changes made were actually for the better, because some actions didn’t really make an impact to the novel. Other corrections made me miss the old text, since the ARC laid more emphasis on certain issues, like Liv’s relationship with dad. Sure, the end was more realistic and less dramatic in this newer version of All the Feels, but I feel that the older version acknowledged something incremental to Liv and her behaviour, while the new one barely mentions it.  I guess it was to make the story a  lighter read. If that was what it was trying to achieve, then it definitely succeeded. Other than that, All the Feels was a really great book to read, and you wouldn’t notice the difference if you haven’t read the ARC version of it.

Then there were the characters! Liv stays pretty true to the socially awkward fangirl, with her devotion to Starveil as well as how she interacts with people online versus in real life. There were times where I just wanted to hug Liv and tell her not to worry. Maybe because I found her really relatable in certain circumstances, like in the university setting or when dealing with parents. I, for one, wish I had half of her passion for anything! 😀  Xander, on the other hand, was really sweet! From his steampunk outfit to his attitude towards actors (even though he is one), Xander’s the type to keep it real without being too overbearing, which is a really important skill to have. And their relationship was pretty nice to read about. From page one, you could tell that they’d support each other no matter what!

Also, it was really refreshing to see a different side to fandom. Not just fan fiction writing (which was there a bit of), but other forms were represented as well. Like Liv’s vidding or Xander’s everyday use of cosplay. I think vidding might be less thought of than fan fiction because it’s using past videos to make a new one instead of creating new content from an established world. The way Liv and Xander brought vidding to their cause, however, was spectacular and shows the practical uses of knowing your way around video editing. And I loved reading about those YouTube video descriptions, imagining them in my head like a separate narrative. Even if it wasn’t real to Liv and Xander, it was real to me! 🙂

So that’s all I have to say about All the Feels. For anyone who liked Fangirl, This Song Will Save Your Life, and The Improbable Theory of Amy and Zak, this book is for you! 😉 If there are any comments and questions about the book, feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below. Thank you all for reading!

-Sumaya

