My rating: pink3

Hello, everyone! It’s time for another review, and this one’s about Love Charms and Other Catastrophes by Kimberly Karalius. Love Charms and Other Catastrophes is the sequel to Love Fortunes and Other Disasters, in which a group of teenagers stops a charms maker named Zita from controlling their town, Grimbaud. The sequel deals with the aftermath of defeating Zita and how Grimbaud  needs a new charms maker to fill the void that Zita had left. Now, when I first picked up this book, I couldn’t wait to start reading it. In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have, because I didn’t really like the first book of the series; it’s just that the covers are so attractive that they call to me, siren-style! I can’t help but pick them up! Plus, I was interested to read about Hijiri after her intro in Love Fortunes and Other Disasters.

I’ll start off by saying what I liked about this book. It provides a nice background of our protagonist, like where she is from, how she got into charm making, and her home life with her parents. It was really insightful to have these kinds of scenes in the book, because you can understand Hijiri and why she thinks in a certain way. Then there’s her relationship with Ken that I loved, in the end! No matter how they came to be, their chemistry was always of the sweetest kind! To be honest, I wasn’t totally on board with their relationship in the beginning. But as the story went on, they were just too cute to disregard! And by the end, I was actually rooting for them to stay together! 😀

What I didn’t like about this story was its dialogue. The lines that were said didn’t seem realistic with their perfect responses. It wasn’t just one person; everyone was prey to bad dialogue. I thought that the reasoning behind their words was too simplistic and diminished my view towards the story. The novel was also pretty predictable, and not in the way some novels are when you know how it should end. It was obvious what was going to happen and how Hijiri and her friends were going to save the day. Even the secret villain was obvious from the getgo. By the time I got to the end, I was speed reading and couldn’t wait to see the Acknowledgments pages. Maybe if the execution were a bit different, I might have liked the plot more since the concept given in the blurb was great. Overall, the story was okay, but it wouldn’t be in my favourite books list.

Well, that’s all I have to say about Love Charms and Other Catastrophes by Kimberly Karalius today. If you liked her first book, you’d probably like her second, since they’re pretty similar in terms of plot development and voice of characters. Any questions or comments you might have are welcome as well! Have a nice day. 😉

-Sumaya

