My rating: red5 

(4.5 stars)

Hello, wonderful readers! Hope you enjoyed your weekend! I’m finally back with a review! I’ve been posting all last week, but it wasn’t the same without a review in the mix… The reason behind it is because I couldn’t get into the book I was reading at the time, which was A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. You might be wondering why in the world would I pass up the opportunity to read that title for a standalone contemporary instead. Well, the fact is that I just couldn’t get into the book; it seemed like it was taking forever to read. The book was even more harder to finish due to the fact that it’s really long. This is why I swapped A Court of Mist and Fury for This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales. For a moment there, I thought I was in a reading slump, but then I read this book and I discovered that it was just A Court of Mist and Fury that was causing this slump. Anyways, back to the review!

I have to say, while I liked the premise of this book, it passed way beyond my expectations of how much I would enjoy it. This Song Will Save Your Life is about a girl who wants to be more liked by her peers and her development as a person. I had to remind myself constantly that I had assignments, which is the only way I could tear myself from the book. Other than that, my eyes were glued to the screen as I tried to find out what would happen to Elise. I always knew where the story was heading in a general sense, but I just loved the detailed execution of it! Another thing I loved about the plot was that there was a pretty big unexpected twist that I really didn’t see coming and I thought,”Really? This wasn’t what I expected.” It might not sound like much, but for the author to do that in a Contemporary is pretty nice.

And it also helped that Elise is a character you just can’t help but root for! She is quirky personified with her precocious behaviour and someone who has a sort of wisdom. For instance, she’ll say things that might sound simple, especially at the end of the novel, but are actually applicable to life. It might be me being sucked into her story, but I found myself agreeing with Elise a lot! 😁 Her development was enjoyable to read, and the way she was disillusioned about how the way things works is for the better. Most times disillusionment is seen in books or stories is when a character experiences a sense of losing their innocence. This time, experiencing that sort of disillusionment is a good thing, since it allows her to see thing for what they really are. The thing about this story is that while Elise grew as a character, she basically remained the same person she was in the beginning. It’s not to say that she didn’t change in some ways (she certainly does change her goals), but she ends up staying true to herself, something she’s been against since the beginning of the story.

However, since this story is about her, other characters  are put on the sidelines like her classmates and even Pippa, Vicky and her band. The ending was also slightly unrealistic… but I’m not sure if that’s my only from my perspective… Probably…

Overall, this book is great for those who like to read about the music scene, the socially awkward and staying true to yourself. While there are other books out there that cater to those separate desires, this book is particular enough to stand on its own and be different. That’s all I have to say about this book. Thanks for reading and have a nice day!
– Sumaya

 

 

