Hello, fellow bloggers and readers! It’s already the middle of the week, which means two things: the weekend’s coming soon and Which Cover Wednesday is upon us! Which Cover Wednesday is a meme that I host in which I compare two covers of the same book and give my opinion on which cover is better. And I’m not the only one who can participate! You can, too! Just leave your comments in the Comments Section below, if you have any thoughts about these covers! Well, without further ado:

1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

8490112 or 13600168

For this first title, I’d go with the second cover. Both covers are pretty amazing, but the second one seems to create mystery, with the old crumbling house opening its door slightly, all the books lying around and that handprint! Oh, the architecture! 🙂

2. I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

7747374 or 7953517

In this case, I’d go with the first cover, because I like its typography as well as the main image of the book compared to the second one. Cover number two’s main image is a flower, and doesn’t appear to be appropriate for its genre…

3. Beastly by Alex Flinn

544891 or 11799797

First cover again! This cover of Beastly is a classic, so simple and elegant with the flower coming out of the Y like its own stem! While the second cover builds on the first (in matters of typography), and is an amazing cover in its own right, I think that the model on the cover diminishes its power, since it isn’t the protagonist and our main focus, Kyle Kingsbury, who is on the cover.

4. Across the Universe by Beth Revis

8235178 or 10802210

So far, so many gorgeous covers! I’m really impressed with the covers of Across the Universe because. each one has the potential to bring in a variety of readers.  If they like romance, then readers are more likely to go for the first cover, with its fairytale-esque cover. But if readers are searching for a Sci-Fi adventure, then using the second cover would be the better choice to entice the target audience. I honestly have no major issue with either cover, only that I personally like the first cover with the colours and space background! 😉  Other than that, I believe that both covers are great within their own right.

Well, that’s all for this week’s Which Cover Wednesday! Have any thoughts on these covers? I’d love to hear them! Also, if you have any suggestions for next week’s Which Cover Wednesday (theme, covers to discuss, etc.), then feel free to leave them in the Comments Section below! Have a wonderful day, everyone! 🙂

-Sumaya

 

