My rating: green4

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hello, everybody! I’m here with another review and this time, it’s on Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally. This book is part of the Hundred Oaks series, focusing on high school students who attend the school, Hundred Oaks High School. Defending Taylor is the seventh book in the series and about Taylor, our protagonist, a senator’s daughter who recently wrecked her public image.

I really enjoyed the book because of the protagonist’s voice as well as the writing style of the author. She’s written for characters that aren’t too similar in my opinion (except for some character traits like sass πŸ˜‰ ), so you get the feeling that she’s not writing the same story. But she does recycle characters from previous and I’m all for that! 😁 I love seeing the continuity of older characters, like Savannah or Maya, and how they interact with newer characters in this book.

Also, I love how the time set in the book is more obvious than not. It seems to be set in really recent times, since I notice that Taylor’s opinions are similar to what is filtering in the media today, especially gender rights. It’s not explicitly stated as a political stance, but an offhand opinion, which shows exactly how these ideas filter into an individual’s values.

As for the plot, I thought it was interesting since I was always invested in the story, wanting to know what happened. Even though from a technical standpoint, it was a painful experience to read on my phone compared to my computer, I just bared through it because the book was just that good. The thing about this book is that it covers concerns such as second chances, especially when being exposed to the media. Taylor handled it way better than most people could have (way better than I would have handled it πŸ˜‰). However, she did put a lot of the drama on herself, like giving herself extra responsibilities that she doesn’t really need to worry about. Whether she learns anything in the course of this novel, I’m not sure. She understands the chance she has been given but there were certain things that remained unresolved by the end. Maybe the loose ends will be tied up in the next book (if there is one)? This was my only problem reading the book; other than that, it was a pretty enjoyable read. 

That’s all I have to say about Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Contemporary YA. It’s a really good example of the genre, with its themes and length (page-wise as well as standalone in a series). For those of you who are interested, Defending Taylor comes out on July 5th, 2016. Thank you for reading this post. If you have any more questions or comments, I would love to answer them. Have a nice day!

-Sumaya

