My rating: purple4

Hey, everyone! Hope you’re all doing well. This is my first review since returning to my blog and for that, I’m covering The Crown by Kiera Cass! 😀

This book is the final one in the series and the second book in Eadlyn’s perspective. Now, while The Selection books are pretty popular, I’ve got to say that the last book didn’t match the standards of the other four books, even The Heir, in which we meet a bratty Eadlyn. Maybe because the pacing in that book is more slower than The Crown. The last book of the Selection series is attempting to tie any loose ends, but in doing so, it felt too fast paced without any room for actual development. The book tried to do too much in so little pages (288 pages compared to The Heir‘s 368 pages). I’m not saying that The Crown wasn’t good; it just wasn’t great enough to give the book five stars.

Another problem with the plot was the ending. Before The Crown came out, I thought,” Wouldn’t it be funny if Eadlyn ended up with him?” only to find out that she actually does end up with him. And I was kind of worried about how easy it was for her to end up with him. Maybe because her declaration of love wasn’t strategically placed. Eadlyn realizes she loves him near the end of the book, which makes their relationship seem less developed. Sure, she comes up with a few instances that explains her feelings. I just wish they had more of a developed story at the end, instead of seeing only the beginning of their relationship.

Then there was Eadlyn herself. Compared to The Heir, she has grown into a strong and capable leader who is sensitive to other people’s needs. Without the crisis that happened in the end of The Heir, I wouldn’t have believed it to be possible in such a short amount of time. But Eadlyn stepped up to the point where she almost was a Mary Sue. Luckily, there were a few moments that brought back her realness. But there was a drawback; Eadlyn started to care so much about other people’s thoughts that she became obsessed with serving others, even if it meant her own happiness is diminished. I think the main lesson she learns from the last book is that she should balance her duties to others and herself. The Heir shows her lacking empathy for others outside her station, while in The Crown, Eadlyn deals with the concerns of her people and takes on so much. But in the end, she decides to be careful and not take on all her people’s problems at once, without any help. I think, at least character-wise, it was a good way to finish.

That’s all I have to say about The Crown for now. What do you think? Do you believe that Kiera Cass ended The Selection on a good note? What will she write next? I’d love to hear your thoughts about it. For those of you wanting to read more Kiera Cass after the Selection series, I think you should read The Siren, because it is just amazing! 😉 Thanks for reading!

-Sumaya

 

