My rating: green3

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hey, everyone. Hope you all are doing okay today. With it getting closer and closer to December, you might see less of me in terms of reviews because of school and all. But I’m here with a review today, so let’s focus on that. It’s about this book called This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp and uses multiple points of view to discuss what happens during a revenge shooting at a school. When I first requested it from NetGalley, I didn’t think that the book would be as bleak as it was. At this point, I feel like curling up somewhere, like my bed.

It’s odd to review the book right now because I don’t know exactly how I feel about this book. I think at this point, it’s too raw to tell, but I know I’m affected by the book, for sure. So much happened in those 54 minutes that I couldn’t believe it that the whole book represented such a short time period. It just seemed too long. I think that’s how the people in the book felt as they were trying to survive in that situation.

Then there was the hopelessness of the situation. Moments like those just got to me, and I felt like I had an obligation to read this book to the end and find out what happened. But I knew that things wouldn’t go back to the way they were in the beginning.

If there’s one thing I appreciated about This Is Where It Ends, it’s the multiple POVs giving information about what the people inside and outside the building were going through as well as their relationship to the gun-wielding student in the building. It provided a lot of information that was helpful in understanding the situation, and how what occurred that day wasn’t really any one of the protagonist’s faults, though they felt like it was.

I guess the point of this book was to express a sense of realism, and that even if the outcome is really horrible, there’s still a chance to salvage something with those who are left. That’s my take on it, at least.

Well, those are my thoughts on This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp. My rating at the moment is 3 stars, but it might change after a while. If you still want to read it, the book comes out on January 5th, 2016. Any comments or questions about it are welcome in the Comments Section below. Thanks for reading.

-Sumaya

