My rating: blue4 copy

(3.75-4 stars)

Hello again! Another day, another review. Today’s review is about Crystal Kingdom by Amanda Hocking. I can’t believe I’ve completed reading a series and have blogged about it. It feels like a while ago since I’ve first started Frostfire. As soon as I was done, I wanted more and Ice Kissed didn’t disappoint. If you’re interested in my thoughts on those books, click on these links for reviews of Frostfire and Ice Kissed.  This book, however, wasn’t as magical as I thought it would be.

It wasn’t all bad. It’s just that it fell a little flat. So many things that I didn’t think would happen did. Even the stuff that I guessed right didn’t happen exactly as I thought it would. That doesn’t mean that there weren’t enjoyable moments in the book. In fact, there were times when I couldn’t help but smile as the book would clarify a lot of things as well as give us some sense of closure, being the last book in the series and all. I loved how it would just out everyone through people’s dialogue, like about Bryn’s fault of carrying too much blame or Mina’s fake British accent. Other than a few questions rattling in my mind, Crystal Kingdom was pretty great at spelling things out.

And how about those characters? While I loved seeing Bryn again, there were moments where I was wondering ” What is she doing?” Like when she makes rash decisions or one moment she would follow her plan and the next, she would go back on it. I guess what I’m trying to say is that other than her resolve in the rescue mission, Bryn was all over the place. Then there’s Wendy; I really wanted to see more of her. Maybe it’s the fact that she’s Queen or a secondary character, but I felt like she was a bit distant. I guess I expected a different outcome of her being in the plot. Anyway, all the other characters were great in bringing the plot forward, except our “villain”  and a few secondary characters, who could have been more developed. But other than that, it was nice seeing them all once last time.

Did I like the ending of this series? Not as much as I thought I would, even though the novel did end in a promising sort of way. That’s why I gave it 3.75-4 stars. Well, those are my thoughts on Crystal Kingdom by Amanda Hocking. If you have any more questions or comments, feel free to leave them in the section below. Take care and keep reading!

– Sumaya

