My rating: red5

(4.5 stars!)

Hi, everyone! Guess what? I’ve finally read The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh! After all that waiting and reading all those great posts about it, I finally get the hype surrounding it! And it is glorious! I’d like to thank every person in the blogging community who’s blogged about this book in the past. Seeing it over and over again made me determined to get my hands on it and read it, once I do.

One thing I liked about this book was how the stories being told within the book related to the main narrative. As soon as Shazi, our amazing storyteller described something in detail, I was like, “Yup, I know what that is!” (like the mountain to the boats). My only thing I disliked about it is that I didn’t get to hear more of Shazi’s stories. Maybe in the next book…

Then there were the actual characters themselves that made this story so enjoyable to read, every single one of them. Shahrzad, for instance, wasn’t without her flaws, but she made a fierce protagonist that shouldn’t be trifled with. I LOVED HER throughout the novel! Her unabashed truthfulness, this willingness to do what’s right while having a moral code (not losing herself in the process) and so much more. You’d think this would make her too perfect a person, but her imperfections, like her loudness and rash behaviour, balance it out quite nicely.

And what about Khalid? From the get-go, we the audience are given the chance to feel empathy for him, but the reason is unknown. Upon reading the prologue of the book, we know a little bit more about Khalid’s predicament than Shahrzad, enough to judge him less harshly, but not enough to satisfy our curiosity. All throughout the book, I was wondering about what kind of trouble had he gotten himself into, because clearly he doesn’t want to kill these girls. When I found out what was really going on, it sort of surprised me, but it was around my guess…

Spoiler-Warning

This brings me to what I felt was missing from this novel. I guess what I wanted to see was for Shahrzad to learn some magic in this book. It seemed a bit cruel to dangle it in front of us, only not to use it at all. Thankfully, the second book seems to have more mention of it. Also, the way things left off overall irked me a lot. Was the trip a distraction for Khalid, meant for him to leave the city vulnerable? What about his “uncle” and Reza; what do they have in store for us? Will Shazi be able to escape the reaches of Tariq and her father? All these questions make me really want it to be May 3rd, so I could read the next book, The Rose and the Dagger.

So those are my thoughts on The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh! 😀 What about you? Have you read it yet or do you plan on reading it? If you have any comments, please share them in the section below. Thank you for reading! Until next time…

-Sumaya

