My rating:purple5

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hi everybody! I’m here with another review; this time it’s For the Record by Charlotte Huang. I’ve got to admit, this book was pretty good from the get go. I didn’t need time to get used it or the protagonist’s perspective. I just jumped right in. Shout out to Samantha @ Reed’s Reads & Reviews for reviewing this book and making me want to read it, too. I already had the book, but you gave me the push I needed to read it! 😉

Anyway, back to the book. It was spectacular. It’s about this girl named Charlotte who gets to join a recognised band after being a part of a reality singing competition. From there, she has to work her way into the fold as well as figure it how to deal with her newfound popularity when she’s used to being a social outcast. I fell in love with this story. I thought that Chelsea was pretty on point most of the time, as well as being really admirable. How she dealt with situations in the beginning versus later on in the book shows just how much she’s grown as a character. She tended to be on the jittery side at the beginning of the novel, but ended with a bit more levelheadedness. I mean, there were times in the middle where you kind of wanted to shake Chelsea out of her daze, but I don’t think it took away anything from her character but just made her more realistic, after everything she’s gone through.

Then there was the band. I got why they were jerky in the beginning, and Pem being uptight throughout the book; they lost their singer and are given a new one who didn’t have to really work from the bottom to make it where they are today. But there is something called human decency, where they could have been a bit nicer to her in the beginning (especially Pem) and even later on in the book. I guess you can tell that Pem’s attitude towards Chelsea, and the music tour, really irked me. At least he became a bit more bearable in the end. The other two members of the band, Beckett and Malcolm, are friendlier than their leader and fellow band member, but have their own complications within the story that don’t make them that much better. They were a bit too one dimensional compared to Chelsea…

As for the plot, there were something there that I expected but some that totally surprised me (like Mandy). Those surprises were really nice, not only because they were twists in the plot, but it showed that change happens, for better or worse, and that these changes not only affect the people themselves but the relationships between people. What happens isn’t necessarily reversible and something you can put behind you, but it can’t truly dictate how you act.

That’s all I have to say about For the Record by Charlotte Huang, other than I’ll be on the lookout for her next book! I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading about rockstars, making it and drama! 😀 If you have any questions or comments about this book, feel free to leave them in the Comments section below. Thanks for reading!

-Sumaya

