My rating: pink3

(3.25-3.5 stars)

Hello, wonderful readers! I’m here with a review: Kissing in America by Margo Rabb. When I first saw this book, I was immediately attracted to the cover. It reminded me of I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios (and I LOVED that book). The cover was so pretty (still is) that it got me to anticipate the release of this book. I wish I read the blurb a bit more because Kissing in America wasn’t as enjoyable as I thought it would be. It’s about this girl named Eva who meets someone named Will and thinks that she has fallen in love with him. Since she hadn’t felt such a strong connection to anyone after her father’s death, she travels across the country for him with her best friend, Annie.

Let me tell you, there were many other things going on other than the main plot, like Eva and her friend Annie’s travels across the U.S. It was so exciting to see them get to finally leave New York and explore new places that you almost forgot why it happened in the first place. There was also all the people they met along the way and what they taught Eva about love. The only part I didn’t like was that Eva belief that Will’s love will solve all her problems, which I though was kind of odd and reaches an almost stalkerish level in the book. I think Rabb was trying to give us a protagonist we knew was flawed and that Eva is not at her best in those moments. This trip is actually good for her, because of the time she has to herself to figure out what love is and looks like, and if her love for Will was actually real. There were also communication problems with her mother that she had to work out, which was shown to be much more important than ephemeral Will, who was there for only a small part of the story, yet you see more of Eva’s relationship with her mother and how strained it has become after her father’s death. I loved the resolution they reached at the end, though! So while I was able to read this story to the end, I didn’t like it because of Eva being really selfish to the point of it affecting her best friend, who always stood by her.

Those are my thoughts on Kissing in America. If you like watching someone develop from a semi-likeable character to an unlikeable one to a likeable one, this is the book for you. Feel free to leave your thoughts about it in the comments section below. Thanks for reading! 😀

-Sumaya

