I received an ARC of Unspoken for an honest review.

My rating: purple4

(actually, 4.25 stars)

Hey everybody! I’m back with another review! This time, it’s about Unspoken by C.C. Hunter. Unspoken is the third and final book in the Shadow Falls: After Dark series. It features Della’s ongoings, her journey at Shadow Falls, a school for supernaturals, and her struggle to accept herself as a vampire . I’m so glad I got to read it after that cliffhanger at the end of the second book, Eternal.

This part of the story was told in dual POVs, by Della and Chase. I think it was a great tactic that left me wanting for more every time it switched to another person’s POV. And I thought it was interesting we see Della from Chase’s perspective, and what he thinks of her. It kind of makes me wish Lucas had his own POV in Chosen at Nightfall… Also, it provides the full story on what’s really going on with both characters and almost an outside perspective, allowing you to be a bit more objective know that you know more than both protagonists.

Della is a character that really grew in this series and it was nice that C.C. Hunter showed us her personality and types of thoughts going on in her head. I feel like I didn’t give Della enough credit in the previous series but now that it’s all about her, you see where she’s coming from and you can’t help but get sucked in. But not completely, I might add. Although Della is a great character to read about and I sympathized with her more than Kylie, at the same time I can see where she needs to grow and want that for her, to the point where I would think “Come on!” Funnily enough, I was in it more for the answers about Della and her soulmate, her relationship with her family and her steps to becoming a FRU agent, rather than the action that made the book fast-paced. The action was great, and without it, the story would have been boring, but I just really wanted to know a few things, that weren’t revealed until the very end…

While Della has established herself as a character outside of Kylie’s world, I found that both series shared similarities, especially with their last books. Both have predictable outcomes in terms of significant other; from the midpoint, I could tell who Della would end up with and it was only a matter of time before Della knew this, too. There’s also the relationship between family and protagonist, with mysteries concerning them to be solved. While Della could be tiring in the middle with her “Not now”s, by the end, her change in attitude is extraordinary.

The funny thing is that with a different protagonist comes a different view, even of our old protagonist. Kylie is referred to as a saint or mini Holiday, spouting out wisdom, compared to Della. From the last series, we know that Kylie is flawed and has insecurities of her own, but in Della’s POV, this is made unapparent. I find that really interesting, and probably a way to say that Kylie’s story is finished and now it’s Della’s turn. Miranda comes off as a bit childish at times in Della’s POV, and I’m also guessing this has to do with Della’s view more than Miranda. I remember reading Spellbinder and Miranda was a force to be reckoned with.

Was this book a great read? The answer is yes! I think the series ended on a great note for Della and cannot wait to see what C.C. Hunter writes next. Compared to the first and second books though, this book was not as great, which is why I’m giving it a 4.25 star rating. Also, some of the conflict resolutions were anti climatic, which is probably my fault for all the anticipation I had for Unspoken. For those of you waiting for the book, it’s coming in 20 days! 😀

That’s all I have to say about Unspoken for now. If you have any questions or comments, feel free to leave them below. Until next time…

-Sumaya

