Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Hello, everyone! It’s Top Ten Tuesday time! To be honest, I kind of struggled with this week’s Top Ten. I didn’t know what bookish habits to write about or if it would be a concise list and not a jumble of stuff I wanted to quit, like habits, authors, books, etc. I finally settled on the DNF category and am now naming those Top Ten books I have DNFed. Here goes:

10. The Girl with the Windup Heart by Kady Cross

18513756
I don’t know exactly why I DNFed this, maybe because the plot was so predictable, maybe because it was a long time before I got the book. Who knows?

9. Breaking the Rules by Katie McGarry

21859363
Probably had to do with the fact that they were revisiting Noah and Echo’s insecurities. The first novel ended on a hopeful note, so why did this have to happen?

8. Dearest by Alethea Kontis

17155793
Lack of time made me prioritize and stop reading this. Maybe I’ll go back to this book someday. 😉

7. The Secret Fire by C.J. Daughtery

22911719
It started off as a really good read at first, but by the time they met I instantly didn’t like it, and couldn’t get back into it…

6. Beauty by Lisa Daily

12926814
This was too cliché for me to handle at a certain point, especially when Molly started to let popularity and her looks affect how she treats others.

5. Landry Park by Bethany Hagen

13479780
It was advertised as Downtown Abbey plus The Selection. Sounds like a good read, right? Except it was nothing like that.

4. All That Glows by Ryan Graudin

12711662
There’s only so much you can read about fairies…

3. Revealed by P.C. Cast

16096873
Too many books in the series. Even when I found out about the last one coming out, I still couldn’t go back because I lost interest in it.

2. The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark

21853719
I hated the dynamic between the two friends and couldn’t spend any more time reading the story.

1. The Summer Tree by Guy Graviel Kay

104086
The writing style and characters made reading this book difficult. It was really disorienting and I didn’t like how so little of the character’s personality and backstory came through… so I stopped reading it within the first 100 pages.

And there are probably even more books that I’ve DNFed but haven’t come to mind. These ten are the most recent additions to my DNF pile. How about you? Do you believe in DNFing, or try to avoid that at all costs? That’s all for today! If you have any comments or a link to your Top Ten, please share your thoughts below! Thanks for reading!

-Sumaya

