My rating: green4

Hello, lovely readers! Today, I’m here with a review about Mirrored by Alex Flinn. This book is another one of Flinn’s fairytale retelling, following Beastly, Bewitching, Cloaked and Towering. Mirrored is based on the tale of Snow White, giving the perspectives of both “The Evil Queen”, in this case Violet Appel, and “Snow White”, also known as Celine Columbo (whose name I still don’t understand).

When I started reading this book, I had positive and negative feelings about it. It’s by the writer of Beastly, which was a great book, but also the author of Towering, a book that was okay. I didn’t know what to expect but I was hoping it would be as good as the former. On a spectrum, it was in the middle of the two.

The beginning was really insightful about The Evil Queen’s origins. I feel like the author had more freedom in writing about this character due to the lack of information we receive from the Grimm’s fairytale. I enjoyed reading her POV and hearing about Celine’s parents’ part in her transformation. It doesn’t just lay blame on Violet, although she does have a choice in the matter.

The second part wasin Celine’s POV describing her mother’s death and Violet coming into the family. In this, Flinn doesn’t really waver from the Grimm’s image of Snow White, but adds more to her in an attempt to make Celine a 3D character. She’s brave yet not a people person. She wasn’t just adored for her beauty, but hated as well. Celine is aware of the people around her and feels obliged to help those who had helped her. But she still has that innocence and good element that’s associated with most Grimm heroines. Instead, there’s more depth to it.

While the first and second parts were pretty interesting to read about, I lost some interest in the third POV, told by Goose, who’s supposed to represent the dwarf of the fairytale. At this point, I just knew what was going to happen and wasn’t as invested in the story. I knew what was going to happen before, but it just got really predictable and started to follow the Grimm’s script. I felt bad about that because Goose had such great lines. Maybe if she had situated Goose’s POV earlier, I wouldn’t feel the need to skip (luckily I didn’t) to the end. But I’ve got to admit, I’m glad I didn’t, because the different POV was really great, especially since we start wondering about him and his internal thoughts after Celine’s POV.

That’s all I have to say about Mirrored. This book would probably suit those who like fairytale retellings or urban YA fantasy/paranormal. Have any of you read it, or other books by Alex Flinn? Feel free to tell me your thoughts on them! Until next time!

-Sumaya

