Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Hi, everyone! Sorry for the late post, but as you can see, this is for Top Ten Tuesday. This week is interesting because it’s a freebie (you can basically decide what topic you want to discuss). At first, I couldn’t think of anything I wanted to list, but then this topic came to mind, and I just let it roll. While these books did put me on the edge of my seat, I still like most of them. I don’t think the books would have been as great without that scary factor. So without further ado, I present my Top Scary Books:

10. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

12291438
This one wasn’t scary bad, but creepy nonetheless. Didn’t stop me from reading it, though!

9. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

1482262
I was actually afraid to read Frankenstein, thanks to the media. Once I read it, Frankenstein wasn’t that scary and was actually a great story and one of my favourites!

8. The Riddle by Alison Croggon

10189970
I was mostly afraid for Maerad, since she was alone in an unfamiliar world at this point of the story.

7. Falling for You by Lisa Schroeder

13553217
As I read the story, I was really afraid for Rayanne’s well being and hoped she make it out okay.

6. Dreamland by Sarah Dessen

4325
It was on the same lines as Falling for You, where I was scared for Caitlyn and wanted the problem to resolve itself so badly!

5. Anything from the Goosebumps series by R.L. Stine

240979_Sch_GBColdLake.cvr.indd_0.tif
There was just something about the Goosebumps series that made you want to read more, even if you knew something bad was going to happen to the protagonist.

4. Anything from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

78411
I’ve never read this series at night. Nuff said.

3. The Forbidden Game by L.J. Smith

7100490
When game turns into something with higher stakes, you know you should be worried.

2. The Midnight Clowns by Robert Dodds

23477891
That book freaked me out when I was in Grade 10, and it was for kids!

1. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

968
I enjoyed the book while I read it, but as soon as I was done, I couldn’t sleep for days without the lights on…

As you can see, I don’t enjoy reading books that scare me, so I generally avoid them. In most cases, I had no idea these books would affect me the way they did. Are there any books that scare you silly (or is it just me)? If anyone has posted a Top Ten Tuesday, feel free to leave a link below! I’d love to see what you’ve done this week! Take care and keep reading!

-Sumaya

