My rating: purple4

(Honestly, it should be a 4.25-4.5!)

Welcome back, lovely readers! It’s time to post another review; this time, it’s Ice Kissed by Amanda Hocking! I have  to say that this series is shaping up to be even better than the Trylle Trilogy (at least, that’s my opinion). I feel like she made some good development in this book with her characters and the plot. It kept me on my toes while wondering what was about to happen at the same time. Whether it was with Bryn, Ridley, Konstantin, Kanin society or Skojare, there was something going on, and we (both narrator and reader) had to get to the bottom of it.

Bryn seems to realize a lot in this book. Not just the problem of Kanin security concerning Konstantin, but also her feelings about Ridley, her job, the kingdom and so forth. There’s still that royalty mentality going on, where she believes that certain rules exist for a reason, but at the same time, she’s growing out of them. She questions if she is truly happy with her position as a tracker or would be as a Högdragen. It makes me believe that in the third book, she won’t end up as one. We’ll see!

Then there’s what’s going on around her. As a reader, we’re almost as in the dark as Bryn is, but as an outsider, we have a few more clues. The fact that Bryn has this royalty mentality blinds her to certain aspects that are apparent to us (I presume). We are allowed to see what might be going on, but it’s just making me edgier, waiting for Bryn to find out. Hopefully, I’m right about who’s behind all this, or might have a hand in it. Still, like Bryn, I don’t know where all the puzzle pieces fit (or even how many are there).

The stakes are really high by the time the second book is over. It leaves us with a cliffhanger wondering what will happen to Bryn, will she ever figure out what is going on. What are the consequences of her actions at the end of the last book? What I would really like to see is her making an impact on Kanin society based on the discrimination she encounters by being biracial (in troll terms). While it was mentioned a little in this book, compared to the first book or novella, it wasn’t mentioned as much. There’s still time for Amanda Hocking to incorporate that, and I hope she does because it would be one way to approach change within the Kanin (and Troll) community.

That’s my take on Ice Kissed by Amanda Hocking. If you have any comments about this series or any other series by Amanda Hocking, let me know. I’d love to hear your input about the series and what you think of it. Thanks for reading! Until next time!

-Sumaya

