My rating: blue3

Hello, everyone! TGIF! Surprisingly, I have a review for you today. It’s of the book Even When You Lie To Me by Jessica Alcott. The blurb inside the cover basically describes it as a girl in her senior year falling in love with her teacher. I recently got it from the library, started reading it immediately, and finished it in a day. You might think I enjoyed it from how quickly I read. That isn’t the case at all. Even though I did read it like I was devouring a red velvet cake with cream cheese icing, I don’t think of it as an epically great book. In fact, I would rate it as a 3 to 3.5 star.

Why? Well, first off, it wasn’t what I expected. When I first saw this book, I thought it would be a Contemporary romance, and on the lines of Ezria from Pretty Little Liars (season 1). Maybe that’s why I read it so quickly; because I was expecting something like that to happen eventually. The book was barely romantic and focused on the problems the protagonist had with the people around her, like her friend, her mother, her peers and eventually her teacher.

I barely liked the protagonist. I had empathy for her but I didn’t understand her completely. It would have been nice to read a flashback or two, just so we could understand how her appearance and her feelings on it impact her, when it started and so forth. There’s also the fact that she is really unreliable as a narrator. I know that all first person narrators are unreliable to a  certain extent with bias, not know the whole story and all that, but this was unreliable to a t. I couldn’t tell if the narrator was exaggerating at times or if others were lying. If I wanted to read a book where I had to think about unreliability, I would read my booklist for school. Plus, I think I liked her friend/acquaintance better than her. She was just more relatable and likeable to me than the protagonist ever will be.

The ending was okay, though. It wasn’t horrible but it did’t end well, either. Overall, this book wouldn’t be something I would recommend others to read. What about you? Have you read Even When I Lie To You or a book  along those lines? I’d love to hear your thoughts about it in the comments below! 😉 See you later!

-Sumaya

