My rating:blue5

Hello, fellow bloggers and wonderful readers! Today, I’m here with a review! It’s been a while since my last review, mainly because I couldn’t get into The Secret Fire. Maybe I jinx my books by saying they’re good before getting to the half-point. I don’t know. Anyways, I found this book in the library and I’ve been meaning to read it, so I gave it a shot. And I’m glad that I did! πŸ˜€

I don’t know exactly what made me want to keep reading this book. Was it because of the reading the protagonist develop from someone who feels useless to a stronger individual? Or the characters she interacts with? Was it the plot that had almost always surprised me with its twists and turns? Was it the world created in this first book of three? It was probably all of these things. The point is, the book was really good and I could barely part with it. This was the first book since ACOTAR in which I could have stayed up all night reading (unfortunately, I couldn’t with commitments the next day). It was that good!

Elisa, the second princess of Orovalle, is the bearer of the Godstone and meant for great things. However, at the beginning of the book, she has no idea what’s she’s doing and doesn’t believe she’s worthy of it. And everyone seeks her out because of this Godstone. Throughout the book, she proves herself and others wrong by coming into her own and facing situations with bravery and wit. I can’t wait to see what happens to her in the next book!

As for the plot, there are so many ties left undone that I’m excited to find out. I can’t even begin to guess what is going to become of her kingdom! There would be moments where you’d think one thing would happen when, bam! Another actually does. It wasn’t too predicable, which I like in a book. Lately, there have been so many books I’ve read that have been predicable, so it’s a nice change.

The one thing that bugged me in the book, though, is that adjectives would be reused to the point where I recognized that it was repeated too much. But that’s my only problem, and a very little one at that!

That’s all I have to say about The Girl of Fire and Thorns, other than saying anyone who hasn’t read it and likes high fantasy YA should! πŸ˜‰ Now that I’ve read the first book, I’m probably going to go on a marathon and finish the second and third book next. OMG, so thankful that the trilogy is all out! I’m Β going to warn you, though, with school coming up I won’t have as much time to blog about books, but I’ll try my best! Thanks for reading this post everyone! Have a great day and keep reading!

-Sumaya

