I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: purple4

Good afternoon! So this post is for Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I recently received a copy from NetGalley so I wasn’t sure I would be able to finish it in time, since the archive date was today. But luckily, the book was so enjoyable and such a short read that I finished it in no time!

I started getting interested in this book after a lot of bloggers posted their own reviews about it. I thought to myself,”must read this!” At first, I reserved it and was prepared to wait for it to come from the library after its release date (which is today), but noticed that it was in NetGalley and requested it right away! And I got it immediately! YAY!

Even though I was reading another book at the time, I just chose to start this one and have not regretted it at all! It’s a really sweet read, with characters you find yourself loving just moments after reading about them (like Madeline or Carla). The plot was interesting, focusing on a girl who has SCID and what becomes of her life when a boy moves next door (cue romance). At first, it seems doomed but something happens. Even though she is limited in some ways, there are other things that make her like others, like her love of books (which I loved ❤ ). She starts out as ignorant of herself and turns out to be enlightened at the end, which is the case for most YA Contemporary. What funny about this is that she even parodies the genre by talking about it in the novel and arguing that her existence isn’t anything like it. But all throughout the novel, you’d see little clues, like when discussing the issue of growing up and relationships with parents.

Then there were the illustrations in the book; they were just wonderful and funny! These were drawn by the author’s husband, and I think they compliment the book well and add more to the story. And I think it’s really sweet that they worked together on this!

What I didn’t necessarily like about this book was that it was a bit cliche. It started all because of a boy. Even though the protagonist goes out of her way to point out that it’s not only because of Olly, but also need to explore the world, it still seemed a bit boy centric. Also, I guessed the big secret before it was revealed, around halfway through the novel. Afterwards, the book was pretty predictable. That doesn’t mean I didn’t like it; it just wouldn’t be in my Top Ten recommendation list.

Well, those are my thoughts on Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I’d love to hear what you think about, if you’ve read it or not. Take care and keep reading!

-Sumaya

