My rating: green4

Hello lovely readers! It’s review time and today, it’s focused on Brian Katcher’s The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak. The book is about two teens who seem to be completely different, one is an overacheiver while the other is a slacker, and yet they slowly start to bond over common ground and not-so common ground. When I first got this book from the library, I wasn’t eager to read it as I wasn’t sure if Epic Reads (the site where I found this book) was recommending me a great book. I mean, they promoted Red Queen like it was the best thing ever, but it certainly wasn’t my cup of tea. What got me reading it, other than the fact that it was almost due, was that my cousin read it and said that she liked it. Since my cousin and I have similar tastes in books, I thought why not give it a shot.

And I loved it! I couldn’t put it down at all, unless I was really tired, but even then I wanted to read some more. The characters were so relatable and the setting added to the book’s appeal. I’ve always had a thing for stories with fangirls, fanboys and conventions (like Fangirl, All the Feels and now this book). While the protagonists had their faults, you couldn’t help but sympathize with them or feel their emotions at times. I remember feeling so angry at Clayton for running off and being unrepentant about it. He wouldn’t accept it as his fault, even though he was the reason Ana and Zak came to Washingcon in the first place.

The plot was pretty amazing as well. Lots of shenanigans going on while they try to find Ana’s brother, Clayton. From fighting with people, to destroying property, to finding a certain item in the basement that has consequences. With all that is going on, can you believe that most of this book (about 200 pages) only tells a tale of a day? Their is so much detail put into the plot that you can’t believe it’s been such a short time until the characters mention it. While the protagonists hang around each other, they slowly understood what the other was going through, and finally overcame their assumptions of each other. Like most Contemporary YA novels, the characters that have a romantic connection usually change each other for the better. In the case of this book, it’s a bit different. They don’t become perfect model citizens from knowing each other, but they get better and I like how the book displays that change realistically.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and would recommend anyone who likes Contemporary YA to go ahead and read it. That’s all for now! If you have any questions or comments about this book, feel free to mention them! Good day to you all and keep reading!

-Sumaya

