My rating: pink5

First of all, I would like to say sorry for all the book memes this past week. Who knew that the Disney Challenge could do that to you (probably everyone but me). I just didn’t want to miss any posts I had for a particular day. And the lack of reviews also had to do with the fact that I DNFed The Road to You by Alecia Whitaker. I just couldn’t take it anymore, and since it wasn’t mine, the answer was easy: stop reading it.

That’s when I started to read Royal Wedding. Even though I received this as a Goodreads giveaway some time ago, it took me a long time to come around to because of the amount of books in my TBR pile. There’s also the fact that in the back of my mind, I worried that this novel wouldn’t be as great as the others in the series. Maybe it’s been too long since Meg Cabot wrote these characters to depict them in the same light. But luckily, I was wrong. So, so, so, so wrong! 😉

Everyone is almost the same in this epic conclusion to the series. Just a bit more grown up with a little more different mindsets. But their personalities remain true! Mia was still a worrywart, Lilly such a smarty pants, Tina a romantic and there was so much more. Practically everyone from the series made a comeback in this book. We got to see what they’ve been up to, which was pretty sweet. Some of the stuff was predictable but it was really a book of surprises, that kept you reading until the last page. Quite odd for a Contemporary. Also, it was really funny throughout the book. Meg Cabot, you haven’t lost your touch! 😀

Some highlights of the book revolved around Mia, Michael, Grandmére, Lana being Lana, Lilly and the law, Boris, Olivia, J.P. and awkward (yet funny) emojis. Then there was obviously the wedding, which as you can guess, Mia cannot fully control. Although, I’ve got to give Mia props in this book; she’s gotten way better at being a princess than in the previous book, Forever Princess. Even though she claims not to have matured, I can see it in the way she says that she wants to leave the world a better place than it was and actively achieving that as well. While she is a worrywart, she doesn’t fuss over the stuff she used to and even comments on how egomaniacal she seemed in her high school diaries. After eight years, she’s not constantly thinking about the status of her relationship, which is a plus! The only thing that saddened me was that she couldn’t keep writing. Oh well!

How Olivia (her half-sister) came into the plot was interesting. Even though Meg Cabot used the same plot in where a girl finds out she’s a princess, it actually happens in a very different way and is handled by Olivia as such. It’s not same story, different person; it’s different story, different person. Olivia is made to be distinct from Mia in a number of ways. I loved her interactions with everyone from Mia’s life, especially Grandmére! The funny thing is that we already hear about her story in From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess, but this is just in Mia’s perspective. Still, it was really fun to read about.

Judging from how the book ended, I guess that’s it for Mia’s POV. However, I did think that Forever Princess was the last book for a long time… Anyways, I can’t wait to read her next book in the Mediator series! What did you all think about Royal Wedding or any of the other books Meg Cabot wrote? To all those Princess Diaries fans, if you haven’t read Royal Wedding yet, I suggest you do so. Thanks for reading!

-Sumaya

