My rating:purple3

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Hey everyone! Today, I’m going to give my thoughts on Spinning Starlight by R.C Lewis. Although I haven’t read a sci-fi novel in a while (since Scarlet by Marissa Meyer), I thought it would be interesting, given the description. Then as I started to read, I would get bored. Whether it was the way the writing was set up (because it was really confusing) on the ARC copy from NetGalley, or from the times they would get technical (which would be a lot). It was just so easy to lose interest. The only parts that I could get on board with were the romantic parts, when she talks about her brothers or the flashbacks.

Then there was the writing. It was really weird to read since the sentences wouldn’t go from left to right fully, if that makes any sense. It would stop in the middle only to continue onto the next line. It really confused me, but not as much as the paragraphs. The time jump between them wouldn’t have a proper transition, which would end up with me thinking something else was going on.

The characters weren’t that interesting to me as well with the exception of Liddi. She sounded like someone you wanted to have at your side. She’s resourceful, intelligent and real. The other characters are a different story (no pun intended). She had so many brothers, and I couldn’t tell them apart in behaviour. Even though they probably all have different personalities, they weren’t prevalent throughout most of the novel. I get the fact that they couldn’t really relay themselves when being stuck between two worlds, but even the flashbacks didn’t provide enough information to go on. There’s also the fact that the love interest was a little too bland for my taste. She’s with him because he sees her. What if she finds another boy that will see her? Will she dump him and go for the other? The only character I could say is developed is Liddi; all the other characters have less to go on and appear to be stock characters, like “the boy that can see her” and “the overprotective brother”.

Overall, the book started with promise but then went downhill as I read it. I could be that this wasn’t my favourite genre, because I rarely read science fiction. The plot was a bit too simplistic as well, especially when it came to the villain’s plan. It didn’t seem worth it, in a way. I could DNFed it, but I wanted to see if it would become better as it went along. It did, but only by a little. Spinning Starlight is coming out this fall on October 6th. If you’re still interested after this review, then go for it. But if you’re a fan of sci-fi, then I suggest you don’t. If you have any more questions, please leave them in the comments below. Keep reading!

-Sumaya

