My rating: green5

(4.75 stars, because of Calaena in the beginning, but other than that…. 😀 )

OMG! OMG! OMG! You’ve done it once again Sarah J. Maas! I’ve got a serious book hangover and probably have to wait awhile before I can enjoy another book again. So thank you!

At first, this wasn’t the case. In fact, I was so bored with Calaena’s whining that I went to read Every Last Breath by Jennifer L. Armentrout (which to be honest, is really good so far). But then I came back to it after I was on my kobo for a little while and decided to read it again. And that’s when the story became interesting and enjoyment began.

I think it all started with Manon’s POV. Manon is a Blackbeak witch fighting for dominance among the witches for her grandmother. In her POV, all the witches go to train with wyverns in order to become a part of the king’s army and later earn their freedom. Which sounds really ironic when I say it that way. More like win the chance to go back home once they fight for the king of Adarlan. Manon is a lot like Calaena in the way which she is trained to be the best and have total obedience to her Matron, who is coincidently her grandmother. Told that she has no heart and soul in the beginning, Manon acts the way she was made to be, but soon changes her tune and develops feelings that she doesn’t regard as feelings but we, the readers, can see them for what they truly are. I liked reading her POV, especially in the earlier chapters, if it meant getting away from Calaena.

It’s not that Calaena wasn’t great in this book; it’s just that she has to overcome a lot of self pity in order to become the person she was meant to be. And I think that was the problem. Everyone had such high expectations for her as heir to the throne that it caused her tremendous anxiety and guilt whenever she couldn’t be there for someone. She would put so much blame on herself throughout the book, calling herself useless, worthless, and many other names. I mean, there were some things that were her fault but there were many others that were out of her control. Calaena/Aelin probably thought that she didn’t deserve the sacrifices made for her, because she didn’t know what to do back then, and afterwards tries to escape it. At the end of the novel, she changes her tune about that, and instead of escaping her identity, she embraces it, every part of it.

Which is more than I can say for Chaol. At the end of Crown of Midnight, I thought they would get back together after sorting out their differences. But I didn’t notice until now that Chaol didn’t really love all of Calaena, but rather bits of her. He never really liked the dark side to her, whenever it would manifest itself. Chaol makes this apparent in Heir of Fire when talking about Calaena and their relationship. It’s like one character says: ” You do not have the right to wish she were not what she is. The only thing you have a right to do is to decide whether you are her enemy or her friend.” I was really floored by that quote and thought that it was exactly the type of problem Chaol had. There were moments where you had to give Chaol props, too. So he’s not totally a lost cause but has some room for development, like all of them. Do I want to see him and Calaena back together? I don’t know, especially when there was an eligible candidate to pair up with Calaena in Heir of Fire. Nothing happened with them, but it seems like the author is teasing us with the potential for a relationship.

Dorian becomes more active in this book as well. From keeping secrets for others to his stance at the end of the novel, we can all see that he’s improved from someone who would just ignore the trouble surrounding him. I’m really sad about what happened to him when I finished the novel and cannot wait for the next one, Queen of Shadows. Would we see his POV in that novel? And what would it look like? Hmmmmmm……

Spoiler-Warning

Anyway, I cannot wait for my fix to come soon! I need to know if Rowan and Calaena are a possibility! At the beginning, I didn’t care much for him, but by the end, he won both my heart and Calaena’s (and possibly every other person who read this)  Or what happens to Aedion! Will Calaena rescue him in time? Will they meet again? Dorian needs to be rescued, too! And what about the King of Assassins? Calaena is planning to meet him or at least retrieve the Wrydkey from him. I wonder where he fits into all of this… Is he working for the king or does he have his own agenda when it comes to Calaena? Because he knew she was Aelin and taught her to hate herself. And what will Chaol do in Anielle? How will he help the rebellion that he’s finally aligned himself with? We’ll probably see what home is like for him after all this time, which will probably be interesting given what has been told to us by Chaol.

What were your thoughts on Heir of Fire? Excited for the release of the next book in September? Feel free to leave your comments below. Happy reading everyone!

-Sumaya

