My rating: green4

(4.25 stars, actually)

Hello again! I’m back!

This time, I’m writing a review on Frostfire by Amanda Hocking. Now Frostfire is the first book of Amanda Hocking’s second series concerning Trolls. Instead of focusing on the Trylle and Vittra, like last time, she introduces other tribes, such as the Kanin, Schojare, and the Omte. It was interesting to see more of this world, especially in Canada (go Canada)! But that’s not all I enjoyed about the story.

First off, Bryn Aven is an awesome character. She is strong, determined, and someone who is willing to fight for what she believes in. She also has flaws that make her an actual person and not a robot. Even though she does have a loving relationship with her parents, there is still some tension between them, which I believe to be the reason why she doesn’t invest in romantic relationships. While her parents love each other, they had to sacrifice so much to be together and still do. And Bryn has to, as well. I’m not saying that her parents made a huge mistake in being together, because that would just be supporting the bigotry aimed at them throughout the novel. What I’m saying is that this is not a fairytale, so the lovey dovey relationship isn’t exactly perfect and does have some consequences. I just hope that at the end of this series, Bryn’s world can be more open to the idea.

Then there’s the plot. While I loved reading the book,  there were moments where I felt that Bryn’s storyline paralleled Wendy’s from The Trylle Trilogy. Wanting someone you can’t have, facing adversary and all that jazz. Thankfully, this book retained its own identity and was not a carbon copy of The Trylle Trilogy. It looked at things in a different class perspective. Wendy was royalty while Bryn is a tracker, one of the lowest positions class-wise. Wendy possesses magic while Bryn has to fight twice as hard without any abilities. I could go on, but I won’t. Instead, I’ll just say that they are more different than similar.

You would think that since this is a second series, the plot would be tangible, but no. I think this has to do with the first series, at least for me. I remember there would be times where I think one thing was about to happen when in reality, the opposite occurred. That’s not to say that the first series is totally influential in my reading of Frostfire. In fact, the major twist at the end was something I did not see coming (hence my calling it “the major twist”). And I’m not sure what’s going to happen next, although I have a few guesses up my sleeve. I’m kind of curious about Konstantin and what exactly is going on in that brain of his. What about Schojare’s king or what happened there? Is there more than one tribe as the enemy? Is the enemy closer than we think? Sure, if you’ve read the book, you’d know that one mastermind was revealed, but I don’t think Amanda Hocking has shown us everything we need to know yet. Otherwise, there would be no need for books two or three.

So, did I enjoy reading Frostfire? Yes, I did enjoy it. I didn’t get bored throughout the book or wanted to DNF. Would I recommend it to others? It wouldn’t be my top recommendation but it would be on my list. Ad who knows? Maybe the series will turn out to be so epic that I recommend it without thinking of any other books first. That’s all I have to say about the Kanin Chronicles for now. Sorry I had so little to say about Frostfire, but if you have any questions, feel free to comment on this post. Anyway, have fun everyone and keep reading!

-Sumaya

